Feliz Cinco de Mayo! Because I can eat Mexican food every day of the week, you probably wouldn’t find it hard to belive that Cinco de Mayo has always been near and dear to my heart. What’s not to love about authentic food, hot salsa, mariachis, salsa dancing and a frozen margarita? With salt, please.

Yesterday the lunch bunch and I decided to take our lunch break and go shopping for something to wear for Cinco de Mayo. Any excuse for a new outfit, right? The difference was that the three of them were looking for an outfit to wear out tonight, and I was looking for something festive to wear to work today.

All day long the conversation around the office has been about where to meet after work, which bar to start at, where to try to grab some dinner, and when to leave the office to start the celebration. Although I wouldn’t trade motherhood for all the Mexican food in the world, nor would I trade it for the colorful and musical celebrations of a Cinco de Mayo party, I do have to admit that I feel a bit sad that I’m going home after work tonight.

In a glass-half-full attempt at looking at my life, I think I need to come up with my own Cinco de May Con Bambino celebration. Hmmm … I’d better get working on that!

