TiVo … what did we do before TiVo? I seriously can’t imagine my life without it … and I don’t even watch that much TV. The beauty of it is that when I DO have time to watch it, I can watch whatever I want because I have plenty of my favorite shows TiVo’d!

Earlier this week I was catching up on my Oprah addiction, and came across the show featuring Lance Armstrong’s ex-wife, Kristin, and her take on the truth about marriage. In a nutshell she tells us that in her attemp to be ‘the perfect wife’ she lost herself. Shortly after meeting Lance the couple got engaged and Kristin was more obsessed with the rock on her left hand than she was with how marriage would change her life.

As with many of Oprah’s shows, that show got me thinking about my own life as it pertains to the topic. This September will be five years of marriage for the Husband and I and, to be honest, there were days when I never thought we’d make it this long. At one point I was so miserable that I even started looking for an apartment.

Luckily, the Husband and I both share a strong commitment to making our marriage work and sought counseling. We’ve learned a lot about ourselves and each other – and most importantly, how to communicate with each other. As our counselor put it to us – which was certainly a light bulb moment for us – we have different operating systems, like computers. Essentially I am a Mac and the Husband is a p.c. Knowing this has made ALL the difference in the way we communicate with one another.

After listening to what Kristin had to say, I thought long and hard about the pre-marriage me and the current me to try to determine if I’ve lost myself. I don’t think I have. I’ve changed, there’s no question, but I believe that’s because my life and list of responsibilities has changed. And there’s certain parts of my personality I keep from the Husband out of respect. I can curse like a truck driver for example, but he doesn’t like to hear it, so I keep it in check when around him.

The good news is that I feel happy in my marriage right now. Last night I asked the Husband how he was feeling about our marriage, just to make sure I wasn’t the only one happy. Thank goodness, I’m not!

