If you’ve been reading this blog you know by now that I’m challenged with trying to figure out just how to keep my little guy in his own bed every night. Following is an update …

Right smack dab in the middle of my frustration, I received an automatic email from babycenter.com. It was their monthly email they send giving me tidbits of information about my child as he grows. In the email entitled “Your Child at 29-Months” one subtitle caught my eye … Dealing With Late Night Visits From Your Child. It was in this article they talked about offering incentives, or as I prefer to call a book by it’s cover, BRIBES.

The cookies I had been bribing with him worked, but I decided to take it one step further. I printed out a calendar, colored it, and taped it to his door. I then went out and bought stickers of fire engines, police cars and helicopters … some of V’s favorite things in life.

The first night we sat down together and looked at the blank calendar. I showed him the stickers and explained that if he spent the entire night in his own bedroom that he would get a sticker in the morning. He was very excited. And guess what? Unbelievably to me, it worked!

Here we are eight days later and I am thrilled beyond belief to report that it has worked every single night since then! The kid wakes up in the morning and the first words out of his mouth are “Mama? I want my sticker and my cookies, please”.

Gladly, my son. Gladly!

