For weeks now V has been telling us that he wants to go to pre-school. Pre-school is where his “favorite friends” are located. Each time he mentions it, I remind him that until he’s potty trained he must remain in the toddler class. It’s about then that he typically tells me how much he loves his diapers.

I’m not sure if it was the 106-degree weather we had yesterday, or perhaps the longer-than-normal nap that he took, but yesterday afternoon he proudly announced that he was ready to go to pre-school:

“Mama, I want to be a big boy and use the big boy potty and go to pre school!”

“That’s wonderful, V! Let’s put on your big boy undies – and you need to remember to tell Mommy when you have to go potty, okay?”

“Okay, Mama … Mama, are you a big boy girl? Do you go to pre-school?”

Big Boy Pants

 

Twenty minutes later, we had an accident. We changed underwear. He soooo wanted to be a big boy that about an hour later, after I had asked him if he needed to go potty for the zillionth time, he finally said yes. We went. We sat. We waited. He was obviously trying to force something out. He forced so hard he threw up. NOT something I was expecting – but we managed through and about 2 minutes later, we had pee. In the big boy toilet.

High-fives abound, we danced – we sang – we threw a party!

No need to worry … I’m realistic. I know we have a long way to go – but it’s a milestone worthy of blogging about!

