Thankfully, I only work part time but it’s become increasingly obvious to me that I need to try to change my work hours. I currently work mornings and pick up V after pre-school. Side bar … my son is now in pre-school. How the hell did that happen?

Anyway, for years I’d get to work around 8:00am however I’ve found that these last few months I’m doing well if I arrive by 9:00am. You see, the mornings are my absolute favorite time with V. He always wakes up happy. He comes and crawls in bed with me and demands that I hug him. I have to take advantage of this as long as I can for before I know it, he won’t want hugs like I want hugs.

This kid is crazy fun for the first few hours in the morning and I just don’t want to miss out on it. Actually, I refuse to miss out on it. Lucky for me, I have an amazing employer who is unbelievably accommodating. And lucky for me, I do get my work done so even though I may saunter in an hour and a half late every day, my job performance doesn’t suffer.

It’s funny how I find myself eagerly anticipating mornings when for the first 38 years of my life I did everything I could to sleep through them. I guess having a child in our lives changes more about us than we could ever imagine. Lucky for me.

