There are times in ones life – or at least in my life – when I find myself in the middle of a pitty party. The name of my pitty party is “if only” …

If only I were able to be a full-time stay-at-home mom; if only I were able to afford that new car; if only I had the guts to start my own business; if only I could get my husband to finish one project before starting another; if only I were better at this or that …

Since V came in to my life, my “if only” pitty parties are certainly fewer and farer between. If I catch myself starting the party planning, I am now pretty good at reminding myself of all of the amazing blessings in my life. Almost every time I get together with my extended family – aunts and cousins – I come out of the experience thinking about how lucky I am to be a member of this group. I’d rather hang out with my family than almost anyone else. They are – for the most part – the funniest, most talented, creative, giving, and loving people that I know. They are not just family – they are my friends.

SF

The last two days I’ve been with eight of them in San Francisco … celebrating my upcoming 40th birthday. Two things became crystal clear by the end of my weekend. First, I must do everything in my power to make sure V spends as much time as possible with his extended family so that hopefully he can experience the same magic that I have and second, I want to make sure that the Husband and I take V to the city at least 4 or 5 times a year and expose him to all of it’s splendor. Having grown up spending many weekends in the city, it’s one of my most favorite places and I’m hoping he will grow to love and much as his father and I.

