Perhaps you’ve heard the claim that forty is the new twenty. Well, after nearly a month of celebration – I’ve done it. I’ve turned the new twenty. And guess what folks? It’s most definitely not the new twenty. Surprise, surprise.

The night of my birthday we had a party. The whole week prior to the party, it had been in the mid 90’s during the day, and staying in the high 60’s to low 70’s at night – just perfect for an outdoor party. I prefer the outdoor party for several reasons, but the biggest of which is that I’m not stuck with stained carpet and sticky floors that must be cleaned up the next morning – while hung over.

The Husband spent the better part of a week building two bars and making a margarita machine … quite the contraption. Birthday day arrives and it’s freezing. Party starts … we decide to try to set it up outside anyways thinking the more people drink, the warmer they’ll be. Didn’t work – not two hours in to the party and everyone was inside. Nearly 60 people. And there I was the next morning, hung to high hell, mopping floors. What the f?

I was pretty damn proud of the fact that for the first 39 years of my life, even though I did my share of partying, I had never puked. It terrified me, so I always did my best to try to sober up somewhat before going to bed … drink plenty of water, etc. Worked for 39 years. Didn’t work on the 40th birthday. For the first time in my life … pukeville. But it was so worth it!

I’ve had my share of hangovers – but the older I get the harder they are to handle. So this b.s. about 40 being the new twenty is just that – B.S. It’s about twenty times harder to handle a hangover, but that’s about it.

So here I am now – in my 40’s – and everyone is asking me how I’m handling it. “Do you feel okay about this birthday?” “Are you depressed?” – Thankfully, I’ve always thought that age is just a number and have never gotten hung up on where my life is and what I have or have not accomplished by such-and-such age – but while painting my kitchen tile last week I had Ellen on TV in the background and she was talking about her life list. I haven’t stopped thinking about my life list since. I’m a list girl by nature – and the Husband and I have often made lists of things we want to do to the house, things we want to do during the summer, the fall, the winter, the spring, etc – but I’ve never actually put down on paper my life list. Those things I’d really, really like to try to accomplish during my time here on Earth. The Husband and I are going to work on ours tonight. Do you have a life list?

