Like most members of the female persuasion, spending money makes me happy. I don’t even have to spend it on myself … just spending in general is a good thing. Spending it on myself, however, is always slightly sweeter!

 

Today has been a good spending day for me. It started off with a phone call from my jeweler. Forty years old, and I finally have a jeweler. I feel like such a grown up. Of course, if it wasn’t for the f*d-up fact that my mom died and I inherited her jewelry, I still wouldn’t have a jeweler. But she did and now I have one.

 

Anyway, when the Husband and I got married five years ago next week, I was using my great aunt’s wedding band. A simple, beautiful antique platinum band. Unfortunately, it’s very old and very fragile and in the last two years it has really started to break down – so much so that I haven’t worn it in over a year and a half. So, for my birthday this year the Husband agreed to get me a new wedding band.

 

My mom loved diamonds and had quite a few … especially bracelets. She had several tennis bracelets, one of which was set in 14k gold – which I don’t wear. In a casual conversation with a good friend who had recently had some jewelry made, I came up with the idea of taking the diamonds from that bracelet and having them made in to an anniversary band for my birthday present.

 

I picked it up today, am sporting it as I type, and just LOVE it! Not only is it beautiful and simple, but it’s also quite sentimental … perfect.

 

With new beautiful ring on finger, I headed next to Macy’s. I’m going to a wedding this weekend and next and have nothing to wear. Okay, I do have things I could wear, but I’ve worn them more than a few times before and I wanted something new.

 

In about 20 minutes time I found the perfect dress and the perfect shoes. Truth be told, it’s the shoes that I’m most excited about – silver-grey patton leather shoes … same style as below!

 

shoe.jpg

 

I’m SO looking foward to dropping V off with his cousins for the night and dancing the hours away at the wedding this weekend … sassy shoes and all!

