November 2nd … and we woke up to our first rain! I was so excited to look outside and see raindrops on my plants, my car covered in little beads of water, and a partially blue sky. It felt crisp outside. Clean. Clear. I just soaked it in. Then I promptly drove off to start my day … without a raincoat or umbrella.

What was I thinking? I wasn’t … that’s the problem.

I’m not sure what happened to that partially blue sky, but I’ve not seen it since about 9:00am. It’s been dark and gloomy outside all day long – and it’s been raining like crazy for the last several hours. Unfortunately, that means that we will have lots of car accidents tonight because all of those stupid drivers I encounter everyday are surely not smart enough to figure out that driving fast in the season’s first rain is a recipe for disaster. Or at the very least a recipe for an insurance claim.

Being that all three of our cars have had insurance claims on them in the last six months – after surving nearly twenty years of NO insurance claims, I’m thinking I’ll try to stay off the road tonight.

Oh, wait. It’s the first Thursday of the month, which means it’s Ladies Poker Night. Can’t miss that. I’ll walk there, if I need to!

