apple-hill-007.jpg

 

Those of us that live in Northern California are spoiled to be living within driving distance on an area referred to as Apple Hill. Located in the Sierra foothills and comprised of over 50 apple orchards, Christmas tree growers, vineyards and even a wonderful spa, those that have visited once are surely motivated to make it an annual event.

 

My favorite time to visit Apple Hill is in the fall – preferably just before Halloween. The crowds are the largest, granted, but the pumpkin farms make the perfect backdrop for the annual p.p.p.o. (pumpkin pickin’ photo opp). That, and I am not permitted to show up to Thanksgiving dinner unless I have with me at least two Blackberry-Apple Sour Cream pies from Bodhaine Ranch … this, from a family who prides itself in gourmet cooking. Anywho, this year’s social calendar filled up too quickly so a pre-Halloween visit didn’t happen. The pressure to fit in a date to make the trip was mounting, as we are less than a week away from Thanksgiving, and I still didn’t have the aforementioned pies in my possession.

 

Lisa, a long-time friend, and I made the trip on Saturday. In the span of 4.5 hours, we were able to fit in visits to six different apple orchards and one vineyard for some wonderful wine tasting! Although I really wanted to come home with a case of wine, I had to focus on the task at hand (and remind myself of the 4+ cases of wine sitting at home already).

 

Here’s the loot:

  • 2 Blackberry-Apple Sour Cream Pies

  • 2 Apple Crisps (each feeds 8-10 people)

  • Apple Butter

  • Boysenberry-Apple Jam

  • Blackberry-Apple Jam

  • Raspberry-Apple Jam

  • Cinnamon Honey

  • 6 adorably wrapped gifts of “make-your-own” Apple Crisp

  • 1 large bag of pink lady apples, freshly picked off the tree

Yum! I just love this time of year! Happy Thanksgiving to you all!!

