Dear V –

Wow. This past month has been a whirlwind of activity and unimagineable amounts of fun! Not long after Thanksgiving we started ‘prepping’ you for Christmas as we knew that this year would be the year you would actually start understanding!

It actually started the day after Thanksgiving when we went to the fire house in Groveland to visit Santa. He was sitting in a huge sleigh and you weren’t quite sure about him. Although you refused to sit on his lap, you agreed to stand next to him so long as Daddy was right there by your side. This is the reason that you can see Daddy’s head in the corner of the photo we took of you … in case your wondering ten years from now!

The first ‘real’ Christmas tree you saw this year was at Papa and Nonni’s house. Their tree sits in a stand that spins the tree around, so imagine your disappointment when we got our tree here at home and it didn’t spin. But you quickly forgot about the spinning tree once the beautiful ornaments captured your attention!

We are lucky enough to live in a neighborhood that goes to great lengths to out-do their neighbors with Christmas lights and decorations on their homes. You dad and I didn’t put lights on this year … we simply ran out of time … so instead, just about every night we took you out and drove around the neighborhood to look at the lights. You absolutely loved it, and kept shouting “more! more!”

Our evenings have been full of reading Christmas stories and watching the classics, such as Charlie Brown, on TV. I tivo’d all the great Christmas specials, so we have been able to enjoy them over and over again. I hope you know how lucky you are … Tivo didn’t exist when I was your age. Oh, geez. I’m starting to sound like my dad ….

I’m impressed at how quickly you learned the words to your favorite Christmas songs – Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer and Frosty the Snowman! You sing both of them very, very well – not withstanding the fact that you get caught in a loop on the Rudolph song! Too cute!

We have about a zillion gifts under the tree – all ready to take with us for family and friends. I think you really do understand that they’re not all for you, but that doesn’t stop you from asking me every day if they’re all yours!

You’re only three, and I may have already blown the magic of Christmas for my only child. I’ve lost sleep over this realization the last three nights. I so diligently wrapped all of your gifts from Santa – making sure to use special wrapping paper unlike any other that sits under the tree. I put the gifts in our spare bedroom … a room in to which you rarely venture. I’m sure you know where I’m going with this … One night when I thought you were immersed in playing with your tinker toys, I quickly ran in that room to put something away – only to be surprised by the sound of your little voice asking me “Whose presents are those, mommy”?  UGH!!!!!  Now I just have to wait and see if you make the connection between those gifts and the ones that Santa brings you tomorrow. Fingers crossed that you won’t notice!!!!

The camera batteries are charged, there’s a new tape in the camcorder, and the cookies for Santa are made! I’m so excited for tomorrow morning! I can’t wait!!

Merry Christmas, my little man – from the luckiest mom in the whole wide world! I love you!!

