As I’ve said on this blog before, I’m not a fan of the play date. Rather, I’m not a fan of the other mothers I typically meet via play dates. I’ve tried the mom’s groups – more than one – and came to the depressing realization that I’m just different then they are.

I have good friends with kids who are in play date groups and have had huge success in hitting it off with the other moms. Some have even formed friendships with the husbands and have done family things together. I’ve always been a bit envious of these friends and their ability to succeed where I have failed.

Perhaps it’d be different if I were a stay-at-home-mom? Or if I were a younger first-time mom? Or if I were more obsessed with making sure I am the “perfect” mom to the “perfect” child? I don’t know …

Although I’m not rushing around trying to find other play groups with whom I can try and fail, I did somehow strike up a friendly conversation with one of the moms at pre-school. Our boys are best friends so it was an easy ice breaker. A few months ago, this mom and I got together with our boys for a play date. Nervous of another failure, I apprehensively committed to – and actually showed up – for the date. To my relief, it was a great day and I left there with a feeling of hope!

Fast forward a few months, and I’m happy to report that I’ve now had my second successful play date! This one was with the same mom and her son, as well as with another mom from the school and her son. And guess what? These women are my kind of normal! They mother very similar to the way I mother! And they don’t judge!! I’m so excited I feel like I could scream! I’m not a complete loser … there really are others like me out there!

There truly is hope for me after all … sigh!

