Some friends and I were talking recently about how easy it is to find people using the internet. We decided to each try to contact someone we knew at least 15 years ago using only the internet … so I decided to try to contact my high school boyfriend.

J and I dated for nine years – throughout high school and college. My college years, actually, as he never attended. We grew apart and ended amicably, but never kept in touch. He still lives in my home town, only 45 minutes from here. Because I don’t keep in touch with anyone from high school, I never knew what happened to him. Did he marry? Have kids? Move away?

After a google search proved fuitless, I decided to try one of those people-finder type of websites. I found one that charged me $6 to give me his address and phone number. I took a chance – and 24 hours after submitting my query I was emailed with his address. I didn’t think about it too much, I just pulled out a card and wrote a quick note and popped it in the mail.

That was yesterday. And guess who just called? Yep …

It was great to talk to him and find out what he did with his life. It felt good to have verified the fact that he did with it exactly what I predicted he would do with it … not much. He didn’t sound particularly happy. But it really was good to talk to him to find out that his parents are both still alive, that his sister has been divorced four times and has two kids, that the dog he got when we were dating had to be put down when she was 8 years old, and that he’s still alive. Because quite honestly, I would not have been surprised had I found out he wasn’t.

Wow. It’s been almost 20 years since we last spoke – it was good to hear his voice … even though it was a voice I no longer recognized. What a blast … from my past!

