One of my new year’s resolutions is to try to be more diligent about keeping up with my blog. My motivation is not to get more ‘hits’ or comments – although both are certainly nice and never fail to make me warm and fuzzy – but rather to keep up on my journal. I’ve always loved the idea of journaling and have started many a journal over my lifetime, but have never kept up with anything as long as I’ve kept up with this blog. And after losing my grandmother and my mother within the last six year – both of whom left behind a journal – I see the value in leaving something behind for my son. Of course, blogs may very well be a thing of the past by the time he gets to read mine – so another thing on my life of things to do this year is to print out the pages I want to share with him and keep them in a binder.

Last night I sat down at my computer with every intention of writing a post. I didn’t have a topic burning in my mind – so while I was mulling over the various ideas that were creeping in to my brain, I was visiting some of the blogs I read on a regular basis. And just to mix it up a bit, I started reading comments, clicking on the links from those that wrote comments, and checking out new blogs.

The great thing about blogs is that you can write about whatever you want. Sky’s the limit, right? Anything’s a go. No fear. … But is this really the case? I’d actually never thought of this before – but until last night I had never read a blog like the one I read. It was a blog written by a woman who was invovled in a very sadistic sexual affair with a man. Both parties are married. Both parties have children. And this woman spared absolutely no detail in describing their encounters. How often. Where. When. And explicit details of what.

I’m a fairly liberal-minded individual, and so although I had never heard of some of the things she was describing in her blog, I didn’t judge her … whatever works for her is none of my business. But at the end of the day I just couldn’t stop thinking about this woman typing out the very, very sorid details of her affair for anyone to read – and what happens if her marriage comes to an end? What happens if her husband finds out about her affair and plays hardball during the divorce and her blog is shared with the judge who is deciding to whom to award custody of her kids? Based on what she’s written in her blog, it’s a pretty safe bet she wouldn’t get custody.

Maybe it’s the HR person in me … or maybe it’s because I love those CSI types of shows – but doesn’t everyone know that anything you type online can be traced? Easily? And fairly quickly?

In addition to worrying about this woman getting caught and losing her kids (don’t get me wrong, I’ve not lost sleep over it – it just made me think) – my eyes have also been opened a bit to what we don’t really know about people. Our friends, our neighbors, our colleagues. I’m sure this married woman with children runs a fairly ‘normal’ life to the outside world – but put her behind a closed door with one of her affairs, and it’s a whole different story.

Reading her blog also made me think about the fact that I live a pretty boring life. And I wouldn’t change it for the world.

