While reading some of my favorite blogs this morning, I came across this post over at Stepping Over the Junk. Reading it not only prompted me to immediately make myself some amazing tea, but also got me thinking that I needed to share my little piece of heaven with all tea lovers out there that happen upon this post!

I’ve been a coffee drinker forever. I can remember growing up as a young child and spending the night at my grandparent’s house. The smell of freshly brewed coffee always makes me think of waking up at their house – bright and early. My grandmother used a perculator for her coffee, and something about the process just makes the smell more intense. And I love it!

My grandmother used to make what she called “coffee milk” for my brother and I. Mostly milk, a little bit of coffee and much-too-much sugar. I couldn’t get enough. Drinking my coffee milk with her in the mornings, at the kitchen table while she read the morning paper, was one of my most favorite parts of staying at her house – and is one of my most favorite memories of our times together.

I started drinking full-fledged coffee earlier than most and have not gone a day without it – not even when pregnant. Judge if you will, but I had my doctor’s okay and my kid is awesome, so all is good. I don’t think I go overboard with my coffee drinking – typically only one cup a day, two if it’s really cold outside.

My deep love for coffee aside, I’ve always been drawn to the idea of drinking tea, but never embrased the taste. That is, until my local mall added a new store called Teavana. After spending over an hour there talking to a woman who knew more about tea than one person ever should, she asked me many questions about my taste buds, had me smell many-a-tea, and ended up putting together a concoction that has quickly become my favorite drink of the day!

But enough about me and my journey to tea … what I want to tell you about is this. If you are a loose leaf tea drinker, you must stop now and go buy one. And if you don’t have a Teavana store near you, never fear. Buy one online! I am telling you it is the coolest thing ever. I bought several for Christmas gifts this past year and after 40 years of gift giving to my Uncle Gary, and received my first and only thank you note from him telling me that it was the absolute coolest gift he’s ever received! I’m telling you, if you drink tea, you want one of these. You’ll thank me later, I promise!!

