Moon Sliver

I’m not a person who is known for my memory, but some things stick in my mind and I’ve never forgotten them, for whatever reason. I don’t remember much at all about my childhood, so I depend largely upon photos and stories. Years ago … I was probably in high school … my mom told me a story how every time she sees moon sliver, she can’t help but think of the time when I was about 3 years old and I saw the moon and exclaimed, “Mama! Look at the fingernail in the sky!” Since the day she shared that story with me, I’ve always thought of fingernails when I see moon slivers.

Yesterday, V and I were in the car – in broad daylight – when he announced to me that the moon looks like a fingernail. What??????? I looked back at him, and he was holding a sliver of a fingernail in his hand, looking at it. But the moon wasn’t yet out, so how? Why? Even though I went through the process of asking him questions, I knew immediately … it was my mom!

As those of you who have been reading this blog for awhile know, I lost my mom unexpectedly just about three years ago – and since then I’ve made an effort to pay attention to the signs that she’s still around, as I wrote about here and here. It’s not as if I’m looking for her in everything that happens to me, but the ways she comes to me have been so obvious that it just fills me up with peace.

Yesterday’s visit was yet another example. And I’ve been smiling ever since.

