While I would prefer to blog about something light hearted or silly today, I just can’t seem to get my mind off of the Imus fiasco. And while I in no way what-so-ever condone the racist remarks that Imus made, I’m finding that I am so torn over the fact that he was fired today. We live in a country with free speech, do we not? I’ve never listened to Imus’ show, but that’s because I know enough about him to know that he is a bit outrageous in his opinions and I choose not to listen to him. And the sponsors that pulled out because they disagreed with his horrible remarks had the right to do that. And I believe the suspension was warranted – but firing him? I don’t know. Maybe it was the right thing to do – but it has me worried. Worried that our right to free speech just got expensive. Cost Imus his job, after all.

Jesse Jackson is quoted as saying the firing is “a victory for public decency. No one should use the public airwaves to transmit racial or sexual degradation.” I seems to me we have yet another double standard in this country. Has Mr. Jackson not listened to rap music lately? Rap music is full of racial and sexual degradation – over the public airwaves. It bothers me to listen to those words, so I exercise my right to change the channel – or actually skip it altogether. Just as the rap artists are exercising their right to free speech in their art. I’ve never heard Mr. Jackson stand up against rap music that degrades women and is full of racial slurs. Why not? What’s the difference?

It’s a complicated, complicated topic, I realize. I hate racism and bigotry and wish people would wake the fuck up and realize that we are ALL God’s children – but the bottom line is that we have free speech in this country. And Imus’ firing today threatens that right to free speech.

