… got me in to trouble again. You’d think I’d learn, but no. I keep getting in trouble for it.

For as long back as I can remember, I’ve always had a habit that some would call bad … I tell it like it is. It once got me fired from a job, actually. In college I worked on campus where I, first hand, had the opportunity to witness the gross misuse and abuse of a departmental budget. If the way that particular department managed money is any indication of what goes on in campuses throughout the U.S. (and my guess is that it is), it’s no wonder that the cost of an education in this country is so damned expensive. The department head, who got paid an obscene salary, did very little work to justify her existance. And, during the Oliver North trials, she did even less work. She brought a TV in to her office and was glued to either it or the radio at all times. I was thoroughly disgusted with her lack of professionalism. One afternoon she pissed me off to such a degree that when I took a phone call that was for her, and was asked if I knew where she was, I told the caller that she was likely somewhere watching the Ollie North trial. Twenty-four hours later and I was unemployed.

Although my bad habit of expressing my opinions when I shouldn’t hasn’t gotten me fired since that incident, it has gotten me in to trouble – both personally and professionally – over the years. Most recently, a co-worker told me he was upset about an off-the-cuff comment I made SIX months ago. He hasn’t really talked to me since, he’s been so upset.

I apologized for upsetting him, even though I’m not sure exactly what I said since he gave me bits and pieces and nothing concrete to go on. But after mulling it over for a few days, I’m actually pissed. I’m pissed that it took him six months to tell me that something I said upset him. And I’m dumbfounded that he got so upset over what it is that he said I said. I mean, in order for me to stop talking to someone for an entire six months, they’d really have to say something hurtful or mean or untrue. What I supposedly said was none of those. It was fact. But the fact is, he didn’t appreciate me talking about him to others. WTF? In trying to rack my brain about this, the only conversation I remember having with someone else about him and this subject was a conversation I had with my boss … who asked me a direct question and I gave him an honest and factual answer.

Whatever. I’m dropping it. Thanks for letting me vent …

