I’m afraid I owe some of you an apology. I’ve been tagged here and there over the last month, and I’m simply terrible at this modern day game of what was once one of my childhood favorites.

As much as I’d love to be able to play well with others – I’m afraid I just don’t have it in me. Not sure why – but I just don’t. So, in an effort to somehow make up for it, somehow make things right, somehow be a good sport, I’ve decided to take the easy road and play along by listing 8 things you may not know about me. Of course, I can’t remember who tagged me with this one – but it seems to be the easiest one for me to complete – so here goes …

1. I do not look, nor do I act my age … just one month shy of 41. People who don’t know me very well or have recently met me always peg me for my early to mid 30’s. I love that. And I typically wear it proudly … except for yesterday, when I went to pick up V from pre-school. One of his classmates asked me if I was V’s grandmother. THAT sucked.

2. I have spoken to John Cusack on the phone. It was fabulous.

3. I regularly run in to Governor Schwarzenegger. And no, I don’t live in L.A. When he’s in town for business, he eats lunch out every single day at one of two restaurants – one of which is directly next door to my office. We know when he’s coming because they block off the parking spots directly in front of the restaurant. And he always arrives around 1:30pm – after the crowds. He is extremely friendly and always says hello, makes small talk. Maria’s been with him on occasion. She looks awful – far too skinny. But she, too, is very nice.

4. I’m in the process of working with a group of fantastic individuals with the goal of opening up a children’s museum here in town. It’s a painfully slow process that will one day be worth it!

5. I am terrified to fly, yet I’ve jumped out of an airplane. And I’d do it again.

6. When I was a teenager, I was voted “Miss Italy” for the Italian Athletic Club – a club of which my dad and grandfather were members. I was interviewed on our local television station, and had to walk in a parade. I won a stereo that had not only a turntable, but also a cassette player! I still have my tiara … somewhere.

7. I was a dancer for over 20 years … ballet, toe, tap, jazz and Spanish dancing. I had my first solo when I was 12 years old. I never grew tall enough to consider it as a profession. And although I was quite graceful when performing, I’ve always struggled with club dancing. Of course, that doesn’t stop me. I will dance all night long. All by myself if necessary. And have the time of my life!

8. I can throw a kick-ass party. Ten years after our inaugural Mardi Gras party, people are still talking about the crawfish we had flown in, the cops that I tried to get to wear mardi gras beads, the buckets full of Hurricanes that had more than a few people puking that night, and the panties that somehow ended up on the chandelier …

So there you have it … along with my apology to those that have tagged me.

