So after reading my previous post, several of you have demanded requested that I share the story about John Cusack and just how I once spoke to him on the phone.

I wish I could say it was some fabulous, amazing, story – like he called me and asked me out on a date, or wanted to invite me to Italy for the weekend – but I’d by lying.

Back in the mid to late 90’s, I worked at a fabulous branding and design firm in the San Francisco bay area. While working there, I met a gal who was one of those people with a magnetic personality … life of the party … everyone wants to be her friend. Including me. And I was lucky enough to actually become her friend – albeit her “work friend”.

This friend worked with me for a few years before wanting to follow her boyfriend to southern California. With the help of a few of her friends, she – believe it or not – landed the job as John Cusack’s personal assistant. The story of her interview with him has never left my mind (must be the HR in me) – because in the middle of the interview a few of his famous friends stopped by and started a game of basketball on the court he had in his office. He invited my girlfriend to join in on the game. She did. He was impressed. She was hired.

She worked with him for several years, travelled around the world and had a fabulous time. We really didn’t keep in touch that much while she worked for him because she was always traveling, keeping crazy hours, and life sometimes just happens that way. Working as a personal assistant for someone that famous is a 24/7 job.

Anyway, one day I called her on her cell phone and a man answered. He asked who I was and what I was calling about. He was being silly and we made small talk. I could hear my friend giggling in the background. Eventually he gave her the phone and when I asked her who that was, she told me it was John. As in Cusack!!!

So there you have it! My girlfriend eventually left working for John to work for Sofia Coppola. That didn’t last very long at all – and the last I heard from her, she moved to Hawaii with her boyfriend. I’m sure she’s living an amazing life, as that’s just the kind of person she is.

