I’m not sure if it’s a pregnancy thing or perhaps the time of the year – or maybe a bit of both – but I have become the nesting mama of late. House cleaning, clutter clearing, home decorating and now … sewing. Oh, and I don’t really know how to sew.

Since finding out we’re having a girl I’ve had so many people tell me that I’d be in big trouble when it comes to clothes shopping for little girls. I had assumed that meant because there are so many adorable clothes out there for little girls – but now I’m thinking perhaps I’m wrong.

Self-described queen-of-all-sales, I’ve already started hitting the sales racks and buying clothes on super-duper-clearance to save for the future. I picked up a darling swimsuit for $4.98 and a sweat pant outfit that is just prescious for $17.00. And to satisfy my own curiousity, I’ve been perusing the racks of the non-sale items as well. What I’ve found is two things. Well, maybe three – but the first thing I’ve known for awhile and that is that I’m cheap. Or thrifty. Or whatever you want to call it – but I have somehow come up with a magic number in my head for spending and will very rarely go over that number. For example … if a woman’s blouse/shirt/top costs more than $20, I’ll pass – unless it’s for a special occasion – of which I have very few these days. For baby clothes, ten bucks seems to be my magic number for any single item. Twenty bucks for an outfit – but it better be damn cute if I’m going to part with twenty.

Second thing I’ve found is that all of the clothes that fall in to my pricing parameters all seem to look the same. Pink. With lots of flowers or other busy fabrics. Not at all my thing. That, or they have some kind of character on them – and I don’t like those either.

And third, the clothes that I’ve found that I do like a lot are primarily from online or small local boutiques and are way out of my pricing parameters.

So that brings us back to sewing. I’ve decided to try to sew some of my own clothes for this little baby-in-the-making of mine. I purchased three very simple patterns today and fabric for one of them and am planning on trying to see if this is something I can tackle on my own. I do have a back-up plan, of course. A close girlfriend is an amazing seamstress, so if I panic or really mess something up I know I can call on her to bail me out.

I’ll keep you posted on my progress and will – hopefully – post a photo of a final product before too long!! Wish me luck …

