… but you can’t look to closely because seriously folks, it looks like a child made this dress!

My first attempt turned out. Just turned out. Not good, not bad, not too ugly. I think baby will be able to wear it at least once. My fear is that it might fall to pieces when washed.

What didn’t work?

– I couldn’t figure out how to sew a button hole on my sewing machine. I tried and tried, to no avail. In true Mama G fashion, I improvised. Instead of a button hole, we have a button – but the dress now attached via velcro. Brilliant, if you ask me!

– You can’t tell from the photo, but the fabric is a corduroy. Please take note. If you’ve never sewn before and want to attempt to try to make something, don’t pick corduroy for your fabric. Cotton, people. Cotton!

– The inner fabric is supposed to be fused to the dress. I bought the wrong kind of fusing evidently. Either that, or I didn’t know how to use it. It made the dress to stiff and crinkly sounding, so I just ripped it out. I’m going to buy some of that stuff they have now – I have no idea what it’s called – but you can iron up a hem rather than sew it. I’ll use some of that to attach the to pieces of fabric. Wish me luck.

After all of that, you’d think I’d end my sewing career here. But NOPE, not me. I’m headed to the fabric store this afternoon to buy some COTTON fabric to give it another try!! I know, I’m just silly that way …

Dress

