There’s a saying that goes “In the cookies of life, sisters are the chocolate chips”.

I’ve always wanted a sister. Someone who knows me better than anyone else and loves me anyway. Someone who understands me without me needing to say a word. My very own sister.

It’s not uncommon for little girls to want sisters, just as little boys want brothers. The difference is that I never outgrew my desire to have a sister. I’m not sure if it stems from the fact that my own sister, Deanna, died at two days old and I somehow felt gypped. Or maybe it’s because as hard as I try, I just can’t get close to my brother. He’s the most private person I’ve ever met and as a result, I don’t feel like I truly know him.

When my dad started dating his now-wife, I was thrilled to find out that she had a daughter. Selfishly I immediately thought that if they were to get married, I’d have a sister, albeit step. It was several months before I met this future step-sister, and we hit it off immediately – as if we’d known each other our whole lives.

We don’t live in the same town, and so we don’t get to see each other that often. Last week, for my birthday she sent me the sweetest note in which she wrote “happy birthday to my sister”. Likely due to pregnancy hormones, mixed with a dose of my never-ending desire to have a sister of my very own, I started crying. And I wrote her back to tell her about my reaction.

In the last week, we have started emailing each other. Every. Single. Day. You see, she’s always wanted a sister, too. And it turns out we have the same sense of humor, and love to talk about the same kinds of silly things. We’ve started to get to know all about each other … asking each other questions, answering each others questions, etc. It’s been a fabulous week of getting to know my very own sister, albeit step … my very own chocolate chip!

