Last week I made an appointment to see my primary care physician. I love him – he’s young, he’s funny, and he never comes in to see me without his laptop. At his fingertips, he has all of my history, my vitals, etc. – and in a few clicks he can quickly look up information to help him explain side effects of this drug or that.

I’ve been on cholesterol medication for several years. I’ve tried diet. Exercise. Soy. Nothing worked to lower my numbers. Both my mother and my grandmother had extremely high cholesterol as well – lucky me.

When I was trying to get pregnant, my doctor suggested going off of the mediation. I’ve been of for over three years now since it took us nearly 2.5 to get pregnant. So the purpose of my appointment was to talk about going back on the medication.

As I mentioned in earlier posts, I had very high blood pressure towards the end of my pregnancy. Both pregnancies, actually. But after my first-born, the blood pressure returned to normal right away.

Not so this time around.

It’s not dangerously high, but it’s high. The doctor has given me four weeks to concentrate on 4-5 days a week of exercise in hopes that it will lower the pressure.

I’m not in any kind of immediate danger, however this has been a wake up call for me. As you likely know, I’m of “advanced maternal age” – having just given birth at 41 years of age. If I have a chance in hell of living long enough to attend my kids’ weddings, I’ve got to get ahold of my health. I’m 20 pounds overweight. And yes, I just had a baby – but I’m only about 8 pounds away from my pre-baby weight.

Thank goodness the weather has been nice, as it’s allowed me to take the baby out for a walk everyday. I don’t know what I’d do if I couldn’t walk as trying to get to the gym is impossible. I don’t currently belong to a gym to begin with. I looked in to a gym down the street that has daycare – but they don’t take babies less than 3 months old. That does me no good.

Another option is the raquet club we join every summer … but that’s a very expensive option, and I can’t justify it from a budget standpoint.

So you’ll find me walking for now. And riding my bike on the weekends … oh, how I love my bike. And hopefully you’ll find me 20 pounds lighter in two months time!

