Maybe it’s because I’ve listened to his music since I was about 8 years old … or maybe it’s because he was the #1 star on the globe during my high school years … or maybe it’s because I’ve felt a little sorry for how his life turned out.

I can’t put my finger on the exact reason why, but I am definitely sad about the loss of MJ.

With a list of things on my to-do list a mere mile long, I was unable to pull myself away from the TV yesterday. Watching the services was a bit surreal for me. I, like most of you, only knew MJ “the performer” – so when Brooke Shields shared with us some of her memories, it was the first time he became more humanized to me.

Prior to last Thursday, I hadn’t thought about him in years. Now I can’t get him off my mind. I’m feeling sad for his kids, sad for the misery he suffered, and sad that the press won’t let this go. I mean, really. Some serious things are happening in our world right now. Almost anyone can tell you about MJ’s alleged drug habit, but how many people can tell you about the happenings in Xinjiang?

Enough rambling … must. snap. out. of. it.

